Book Review: The Darkest Flower by Kristin Wright

Overall

A perfect book for someone who needs something light with a bit of suspense and a crime thriller.

Review

I haven’t been reading for a few years already. The last book I read was in early 2020 and I didn’t even manage to finish the entire book, to be honest. It feels so hard to keep my attention on a physical book as I probably have some obsession with my devices lol.

So, with me getting a new IPad, I started reading again and picked this book as my first one.

The story is surprisingly light enough for someone who hasn’t read in a long time. I managed to keep my attention and finish the whole book in 4 days. The language is simple, easy to grasps and the topic highlighted is also simple enough for me to understand and follow.

It tells a story about a woman (Kira Grant) who is also a mother and a member of a Parents – Teachers Association (PTA) who’s got convicted with a charge of a murder attempt. The victim (Summer Peerman) was poisoned by a flower added into her smoothies during a fifth graders graduation party at school and Kira was the one who handed the cup to her. 90% of the story is about how Allison Barton (Kira’s attorney) defended Kira and how she uncovers the truth behind the incident.

What I love about the story is that it was told from two perspectives; Kira’s and Allison. It brings you to understand Allison’s inner thoughts and feelings while she interviews witnesses and people related to the incident and how she struggles with trusting her client she’s supposed to defend in the court. Kira, on the other hand, has an interesting character. A poised, privileged white woman (spoiler alert) who think the world revolves around her. She’s willing to do anything to keep her and her family in a higher standard than anyone and is always putting on a mask over her beautiful face and model-like body. If I have to describe her in one word, I would say Kira is a narcissist.

People expect certain performances from good girls, and I’d always made sure to get a standing ovation for mine.

Kira, The Darkest Flower

The plot is quite interesting though but with Kira’s character portrayed like that, I can easily expect how the plot would unfold. I love the fact that Kristin added a bit of romance in the story which added some spice to the plot.

Overall, I would recommend this to those to need something light to fill their days. If you prefer a heavier crime-thriller fiction, this might not be for you.

I give The Darkest Flower a 4/5.

Note: The ebook is available on Kindle but I also saw it available on other free platforms.

Leave a comment